Holiday eating: Hive Beach Cafe

I dug out some old photos the other day that had me dreaming of summer.  And salivating.

English seaside perfection.

English seaside perfection.

One of my favourite places to go in the holidays is the Hive Beach Cafe, which is located right on the beach at Burton Bradstock in Dorset.  OK, that’s a bit of a trek to go for lunch, but it’s such a quintessentially and joyfully seaside-y place that it would be entirely worth it.

We also tried some scallops.

We also tried some scallops.

It’s very laid back and pretty rustic, and if the weather’s nice it’s obviously better to sit outside and look out at the coast.  On a sunny day, the outside area is likely to be full of dog owners and their cute companions, which is a bonus.

The speciality is, fittingly, seafood.  My favourite thing to do is to order a whole crab and wrestle it into submission until every morsel of edible meat is gone.  This reminds me of summer holiday lunches when I was a tiny child – my mum made the discovery (top tip, parents!) that eating my way through a whole crab could keep me entertained for hours.  At Hive Beach, the crabs come with a handy stone to smash the shell with.

Ideal lunch.

Ideal lunch.

What could be nicer?  Sitting outside, with a bottle of cold white wine, a whole crab, and a big rock to smash it with…  I wish I were there right now.  I’ve decided I’m going again as soon as the weather’s good.

So good we dropped in again for breakfast!

So good we dropped in again for breakfast!

3 thoughts on “Holiday eating: Hive Beach Cafe

  1. Mouth watering! I’m practically drooling at the bread, and thick cut fries(or chips I suppose!) in the first photo. These posts are a favorite. Such an essential guide to spots I wouldn’t know about. When I next visit England I’ll probably print them out, staple and voila! my tour map.

    There’s a restaurant I’ve only been to once in Salem, MA but I think about often. I’m not sure it’s even the snazziest place in the city but it has a fantastic, breezy, second floor deck by the bay. To eat, and sip cold drinks and look out over the water and smell the sea is one of the finest moments anywhere ever. At least for me, and maybe for you!

Leave a comment