London eating: The Diner

The Diner is a restaurant that seems to crop up all around London – I think Ruth and I have been to most of them between us.  I know it’s not particularly chic, but I love grubby American diner food – I can eat it by the tonne, particularly when I have a hangover.  So, it was a bit of a lifesaver when I spotted its sign on a slightly hungover morning after visiting friends in Islington.

So happy at the prospect of being saved by food.

So happy at the prospect of being saved by food.

In my unbridled excitement, I may have got a bit carried away.  I don’t think I have ever ordered so much food.  And I ate it all.  A dirty burger, chili cheese fries, onion rings, macaroni cheese (I do love it when you can order mac and cheese as a side order) AND a milkshake.

Look at that cheese!

Look at that cheese!

As I said, I do love this kind of food.  Grubby and fairly basic, but deeply satisfying.  This is a good example of the genre.  I probably wouldn’t come here for dinner – Meat Liquor, for one, would be a better option if you were after this sort of thing – but it’s great for a weekend brunch.  I like any restaurant with a booth, so this is a great place to hang around for the afternoon, feeling slightly sorry for yourself.

I womanfully ate it all.

I womanfully ate it all.

What do you like to eat when you have a hangover?

Slightly high on my own greed - time for a nap.

Slightly high on my own greed – time for a nap…

Ex

3 thoughts on “London eating: The Diner

  1. I have a shameful secret hangover food – fray bentos steak and kidney pie! You know the kind that you cook in the tin and has that adorable soggy pastry.? I can easily eat the whole thing…heavenly, guilty, unhealthy bliss!

Leave a comment