What’s the worst job you’ve ever had?

What’s the worst job you have ever had?

Some of mine have been surprising.  I loved my first job as a waitress for £2.50 per hour – my meagre wage was supplemented by all the hot chocolate I could drink and mucking about with my friend Sacha all day long.  Being a postwoman went very badly and lasted one day – I was so slow at cycling with the heavy mailbags that they refused to believe that it had really taken me *that* long to deliver the day’s post.
Sadly, my post bike was absolutely nothing like this.

Sadly, my post bike was absolutely nothing like this.

I generally love menial jobs as long as the people are nice enough.  I once worked in an office where the work was fine, but these two total  smalltown b*tches ganged up on me and made my life a misery.  Temping in a trendy magazine office years ago, the editor actually forced me to make a cup of tea while the whole team watched as she ‘couldn’t figure out why my tea was so disgusting’.  That was fun, as you can imagine.
So obviously I spat in it.

So obviously I spat in it.

I’ve had some wonderful jobs where my colleagues have ended up being lifelong friends.  I have worked in offices where it has actually been really fun to go to work every day.
However, the worst job I ever had was also the weirdest.  It was working for a married couple, in their house.  Yes, the office was in their house.  They held the interviews in a rented office, so I did not know this in advance.  They spied on my emails and did not like me to have my handbag under my desk, so I had to lock it in a cupboard when I arrived every morning.  I had to be careful when I made a cup of tea because the kettle was ‘too noisy’.
It was genuinely odd.  I only worked there for five months.
What’s the worst – or the weirdest – job that you have ever had?
E x

Leave a comment